Ir directamente a la información del producto
1 de 2

Renaissance Records

Eurogliders - This Island [CD]

Eurogliders - This Island [CD]

Precio habitual $7.99 USD
Precio habitual Precio de oferta $7.99 USD
Oferta Agotado
Los gastos de envío se calculan en la pantalla de pago.

The Eurogliders was formed in 1980 by Bernie Lynch (guitar and vocals) and Amanda Vincent (keyboards), originally under the name of "Living Single". Lynch and Vincent advertised in a Perth newspaper and recruited the original line-up, Crispin Akkerman (guitar), Guy Slingerland (drums) and Don Meharry (bass). The band performed for two years in Perth, generating their material, sound and building up a following. By the end of 81, drummer John Bennets replaced Slingerland following his resignation. In 1981 well after the band had established itself, an ex-girlfriend of Lynch's, former cabaret singer Grace Knight, auditioned for the band and was recruited as the lead vocalist. Some months later, the band changed their name to Eurogliders and was soon approached by manager Brian Peacock, who closed their first recording and publishing contracts with Polydor. Eurogliders then recruited Melbourne bass player Geoff Rosenberg. In 1982, with the line-up settled, Eurogliders travelled to Manila, capital city of the Philippines, to record their first album which was produced by Englishman Len Lubin. From Manila, the band relocated to Sydney. The album was called Pink Suit Blue Day, and their first hit single later that year was "Without You".

After changing record labels from Polydor to CBS in 1983, the band replaced their bass player once again with Scott Saunders and went to the UK to record their second album. While on this trip, the band recruited bass player Ron Francois, formerly of The Teardrop Explodes. With the line-up which would eventually take the band to stardom, the band recorded This Island, produced by Nigel Gray (best known for his work with the Police). It was not until the release of the single "Heaven (Must Be There)" from this album in 1984, which reached No. 2 on the Australian singles charts and 65 on the American Billboard charts, that the band received national and international attention. The album went platinum in Australia and peaked at 140 in the US Billboard charts. "Heaven" then started off a domino effect of hits, with "We Will Together" (No. 7, 1985), "The City of Soul" (No. 19, 1985), "Can't Wait to See You" (No. 8, 1985) and "Absolutely" (No. 29, 1986). The album Absolutely spent 47 weeks in the Australian charts. Between 1984 and 1986, Eurogliders toured Australia, the USA, Canada, Puerto Rico, Japan and New Zealand.

Track List

  1. Heaven (Must Be There)
  2. Someone
  3. No Action
  4. Never Say
  5. Maybe Only I Dream
  6. Cold Comfort
  7. Another Day In The Big World
  8. Keep It Quiet
  9. Nothing To Say
  10. Judy's World
  11. Waiting For You
  12. It's The Way
  13. Without You
  14. Listen
Ver todos los detalles