Skip to product information
1 of 2

Renaissance Records

Device - 22B3 [CD]

Device - 22B3 [CD]

Regular price $9.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $9.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Device was a short-lived pop-rock trio formed by keyboardist, bassist and vocalist Holly Knight, vocalist Paul Engemann and guitarist Gene Black.

Device's only album, 22B3, was released in the spring of 1986. It produced a Top 40 single in the U.S. with "Hanging on a Heart Attack," which peaked at #35 on the Hot 100. The band's second single, "Who Says", peaked at #79. Both of these songs were promoted by music videos which garnered MTV rotation, and both were released as 12" singles with remix and dub versions which received club play. A third single was released, while the album peaked at #73 on the Billboard Top 200 Albums chart. Mike Chapman produced the album. Better known as a songwriter, Knight started her career with the band Spider during the early 1980s. She wrote hit songs for Pat Benatar, Scandal, Heart, Cheap Trick, Tina Turner and many others. Turner had covered Spider's "Better Be Good To Me" for her Private Dancer album and had a major hit with the song in 1984.

Track List

  1. Hanging On A Heart Attack
  2. Who Says
  3. Pieces On The Ground
  4. Tough And Tender
  5. When Love Is Good
  6. Didn’t I Read You Right
  7. Fall Apart, Golden Heart
  8. I’ve Got No Room For Your Love
  9. Who’s On The Line
  10. Sand, Stone, Cobwebs and Dust


View full details