Skip to product information
1 of 1

Renaissance Records

Little Feat - Alive In America 1973

Little Feat - Alive In America 1973

Regular price $24.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $24.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Frank Zappa was instrumental in getting former Mothers Of Invention member Lowell George and his new band, Little Feat, featuring Roy Estrada, RIchie Hayward and Billy Payne, a contract with Warner Bros. Records. The eponymous first album delivered to Warner Bros. was recorded mostly in August and September 1970, and was released in January 1971. When it came time to record “Willin’,” George had hurt his hand in an accident with a model airplane, so Ry Cooder sat in and played the song’s slide part. Lowell’s accident is referenced on the cover art of the band’s 1998 album Under the Radar. “Willin’” would be re-recorded with George playing slide for Little Feat’s second album Sailin’ Shoes.

Despite good reviews of their sophomore effort, lack of commercial success led to the band splitting up, with Estrada leaving to join Captain Beefheart’s Magic Band.
In 1972 Little Feat reformed, with bassist Kenny Gradney replacing Estrada. The band also added a second guitarist in Paul Barrere, who had known George since they attended Hollywood High School in California, and percussionist Sam Clayton (brother of session singer Merry Clayton and the brother-in-law of the jazz
saxophonist Curtis Amy) and as a result the band was expanded from a quartet to a sextet.

This new lineup radically altered the band’s sound, leaning toward New Orleans funk. The group went on to record Dixie Chicken (1973)—one of the band’s most popular albums, which incorporated New Orleans musical influences and styles—as well as Feats Don’t Fail Me Now (1974), which was a studio-recorded attempt to capture some of the energy of their live shows. This recording was made in between the Dixie Chicken and Feats Don’t Fail Me Now albums. Recorded live in Denver on July 20, 1973 at Ebbet’s Field.

Track Listing

Disc 1
1. Apolitcal Blues (5:19)
2. Two Trains (3:32)
3. Got No Shadow Pt. 1 (6:12)
4. The Fan (6:05)
5. Texas Rose Cafe (4:38)
6. Snakes On Everything (6:56)
7. Cat Fever (6:21)
8. Fat Man In The Bathtub (5:54)
9. Walkin’ All Night (4:04)
10. Sailin’ Shoes (4:36)

Disc 2
1. Dixie Chicken (9:58)
2. Hamburger Midnight (6:11)
3. Got No Shadow Pt. 2 (7:02)
4. On Your Way Down (8:19)
5. Willin’ (4:06)
6. Cold, Cold, Cold (13:10)

View full details
  • Shipping

    We can ship to virtually any address in the world. Note that there are restrictions on some products, and some products cannot be shipped to international destinations.

    When you place an order, we will estimate shipping and delivery dates for you based on the availability of your items and the shipping options you choose. Depending on the shipping provider you choose, shipping date estimates may appear on the shipping quotes page.

    Please also note that the shipping rates for many items we sell are weight-based. The weight of any such item can be found on its detail page. To reflect the policies of the shipping companies we use, all weights will be rounded up to the next full pound.

  • Returns

    You may return most new, unopened items within 30 days of delivery for a full refund. We'll also pay the return shipping costs if the return is a result of our error (you received an incorrect or defective item, etc.).

    You should expect to receive your refund within four weeks of giving your package to the return shipper, however, in many cases you will receive a refund more quickly. This time period includes the transit time for us to receive your return from the shipper (5 to 10 business days), the time it takes us to process your return once we receive it (3 to 5 business days), and the time it takes your bank to process our refund request (5 to 10 business days).

    If you need to return an item, please contact us with your order number and details about the product you would like to return. We will respond quickly with instructions for how to return items from your order.