Skip to product information
1 of 1

Renaissance Records

Split Enz - Alive In America

Split Enz - Alive In America

Regular price $14.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $14.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Split Enz were a New Zealand rock band formed in Auckland in 1972 by Tim Finn and Phil Judd and had a variety of other members during its existence. Originally started as a folk-oriented group with quirky art rock stylings, the band built a strong regional following, noted for their outlandish costumes and makeup. After Tim Finn’s brother Neil joined as co-lead vocalist and songwriter, the band came to embrace a more streamlined and pop-oriented approach and became pioneers of new wave.
The band experienced its greatest success in the early 1980s, with the albums True Colours (1980), Waiata (1981) and Time and Tide (1982) reaching number one in New Zealand and Australia and producing the hit singles “I Got You” (a New Zealand and Australian number-one), “One Step Ahead”, “History Never Repeats”, “Dirty Creature” and “Six Months in a Leaky Boat”. The band also earned a cult following in North America and Europe, with its music videos entering heavy rotation in the early years of MTV. After Tim Finn left the band to start a solo career, Neil Finn became its sole leader for the album See Ya ‘Round (1984), before Split Enz broke up. Neil Finn and drummer Paul Hester went on to collaborate in a new band called the Mullanes, later known as Crowded House.
In total, Split Enz had 10 albums (including seven studio albums) reach the top 10 of the Official New Zealand Music Chart. It has had eight songs listed in the APRA Top 100 New Zealand Songs of All Time, more than any other band.
For their fifth studio LP, David Tickle was brought to Australia to produce. The result, True Colours, also marked the emergence of Neil as a significant pop songwriter. His song “I Got You” seems in retrospect an obvious choice as a first single.

track listing

1. Double Happy (3:45)
2. Hard Act To Follow (3:52)
3. Poor Boy (3:48)
4. Missing Person (3:54)
5. Hermit McDermitt (6:00)
6. Ghost Girl (4:18)
7. I Don’t Wanna Dance (3:28)
8. I Wouldn’t Dream Of It (3:46)
9. Nobody Takes Me Seriously (3:17)
10. I Hope I Never (4:52)
11. I Got You (3:41)
12. What’s The Matter With You (5:12)
13. I See Red (3:39)
14. Horse To Water (3:38)
15. Shark Attack (3:01)
16. Twist And Shout (2:46)
17. Message Boy (2:49)
18. My Mistake (4:34)

View full details
  • Shipping

    We can ship to virtually any address in the world. Note that there are restrictions on some products, and some products cannot be shipped to international destinations.

    When you place an order, we will estimate shipping and delivery dates for you based on the availability of your items and the shipping options you choose. Depending on the shipping provider you choose, shipping date estimates may appear on the shipping quotes page.

    Please also note that the shipping rates for many items we sell are weight-based. The weight of any such item can be found on its detail page. To reflect the policies of the shipping companies we use, all weights will be rounded up to the next full pound.

  • Returns

    You may return most new, unopened items within 30 days of delivery for a full refund. We'll also pay the return shipping costs if the return is a result of our error (you received an incorrect or defective item, etc.).

    You should expect to receive your refund within four weeks of giving your package to the return shipper, however, in many cases you will receive a refund more quickly. This time period includes the transit time for us to receive your return from the shipper (5 to 10 business days), the time it takes us to process your return once we receive it (3 to 5 business days), and the time it takes your bank to process our refund request (5 to 10 business days).

    If you need to return an item, please contact us with your order number and details about the product you would like to return. We will respond quickly with instructions for how to return items from your order.