Skip to product information
1 of 2


Sugarloaf - Alive In America 1975 [CD]

Sugarloaf - Alive In America 1975 [CD]

Regular price $7.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Sugarloaf was an American rock band in the 1970s, featuring lead vocalist and keyboardist Jerry Corbetta. They originated in Denver, Colorado.

Corbetta founded the band with guitarist Bob Webber of the Moonrakers; the other initial bandmembers were drummer Bob MacVittie and rhythm guitarist Veeder Van Dorn III, also from the Moonrakers, plus bassist Bob Raymond. The Moonrakers had previously released 4 singles on Tower; three of their songs are collected on the Colorado garage rock compilation album Highs in the Mid-Sixties, Volume 18, and another was released earlier on the Pebbles Volume 10 LP.

The band was originally known as Chocolate Hair. They changed their name to Sugarloaf, a mountain outside ofBoulder, Colorado,  when they received their first recording contract.

They are best known for two songs, both of which hit the top 10 charts in the United States: "Green-Eyed Lady" in the autumn of 1970 (their biggest hit, reaching No. 3 on the Billboard chart) and "Don't Call Us, We'll Call You" in 1975 (US No. 9).

Other songs which charted on the Billboard Hot 100 were "Mother Nature's Wine" (1971), "Tongue in Cheek" (1971), and "Stars In Our Eyes" (1976). In addition, "West of Tomorrow" and "Myra Myra" were not hit singles, but received modest airplay at the time of their release on album rock radio stations.

The 1975 album Don't Call Us, We'll Call You was a re-release of their 1973 album I Got A Song, with one of the tracks on the earlier album replaced by the title track of the later album, which had become a hit single.



1 Medley: Buzzard Stomp/Back Door Man
2 Chest Fever
3 Kiss the Sky
4 I Got a Song
5 Don't Call Us, We'll Call You
6 The Boogieman
7 Bread and Butter
8 Green-Eyed Lady
View full details