Skip to product information
1 of 2

Renaissance Records

Tony Carey - A Lonely Life: The Anthology [CD]

Tony Carey - A Lonely Life: The Anthology [CD]

Regular price $11.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

With the band Rainbow, Carey appeared on the studio album Rainbow Rising (1976) and on the live albums On Stage (1977) and Live in Germany (1994). Carey performed the keyboard introduction to "Tarot Woman", the first track on the Rainbow Rising album and the keyboard solo on "A Light in the Black", the last cut on the album.

He had a minor hit in the early 1980s with "I Won't Be Home Tonight", and then a bigger hit in 1984 with "A Fine, Fine Day", which reached #22 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart and #1 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks charts. A follow-up single, "The First Day of Summer", reached #33 on the Hot 100 in July 1984. Both songs are featured on the album, Some Tough City, which hit #60 on the Billboard 200 album chart. Carey opened for Night Ranger on many dates of their 1984 tour in support of this album. His 1985 follow-up album, Blue Highway, did not score a hit.

He also fronted the science-fiction-themed group Planet P Project (initially called just Planet P), which he used as a vehicle for his solo work. Planet P Project released two albums, Planet P (on Geffen Records) in 1983 and Pink World (on MCA Records) in 1984, for which he wrote the lyrics and music, sang the lead vocals, and played most of the instruments. Session performers on lead guitar, saxophones, programming, and drums on some tracks made up the rest of the group. The first album was released on CD in 1992, retitled Planet P Project.

Tony began producing and guesting on many major groups from the US and Europe in the mid 80's. Notables of the many included Jennifer Rush in 1985, John Mayall and The Bluesbreakers - Chicago Line in 1988, keyboards and producer. In 1992 with Joe Cocker - Now That You're Gone, Forest McDonald's Color Blind, and in 2006 from Dire Straits, David Knopfler - Songs For The Siren.

Track List

  1. I Won’t Be Home Tonight
  2. West Coast Summer Nights
  3. Why Me?
  4. King For A Day
  5. A Fine, Fine Day
  6. Lonely Life
  7. First Day Of Summer
  8. We Wanna Live
  9. She Moves Like A Dancer
  10. Blue Highway
  11. Bedtime Story
  12. Burning Bridges
  13. What I See
  14. Cold War Kids
  15. No Man’s Land
  16. Only The Young Die Good
  17. Boystown
  18. Storyville
View full details