Skip to product information
1 of 1

Renaissance Records

Tony Carey - I Won't Be Home Tonight (CD)

Tony Carey - I Won't Be Home Tonight (CD)

Regular price $9.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $9.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

With the band Rainbow, Carey appeared on the studio album Rainbow Rising (1976) and on the live albums On Stage (1977) and Live in Germany (1994). Carey performed the keyboard introduction to "Tarot Woman", the first track on the Rainbow Rising album and the keyboard solo on "A Light in the Black", the last cut on the album.

He had a minor hit in the early 1980s with "I Won't Be Home Tonight", and then a bigger hit in 1984 with "A Fine, Fine Day", which reached #22 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart and #1 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks charts. A follow-up single, "The First Day of Summer", reached #33 on the Hot 100 in July 1984. Both songs are featured on the album, Some Tough City, which hit #60 on the Billboard 200 album chart. Carey opened for Night Ranger on many dates of their 1984 tour in support of this album. His 1985 follow-up album, Blue Highway, did not score a hit.

He also fronted the science-fiction-themed group Planet P Project (initially called just Planet P), which he used as a vehicle for his solo work. Planet P Project released two albums, Planet P (on Geffen Records) in 1983 and Pink World (on MCA Records) in 1984, for which he wrote the lyrics and music, sang the lead vocals, and played most of the instruments. Session performers on lead guitar, saxophones, programming, and drums on some tracks made up the rest of the group. The first album was released on CD in 1992, retitled Planet P Project.

Tony began producing and guesting on many major groups from the US and Europe in the mid 80's. Notables of the many included Jennifer Rush in 1985, John Mayall and The Bluesbreakers - Chicago Line in 1988, keyboards and producer. In 1992 with Joe Cocker - Now That You're Gone, Forest McDonald's Color Blind, and in 2006 from Dire Straits, David Knopfler - Songs For The Siren.

Track List

  1. I Won't Be Home Tonight
  2. Running Away From The Thought Of You
  3. I'll Tell The World About It
  4. Carry My Love
  5. I Don't Care
  6. West Coast Summer Nights
  7. Natalia
  8. Vigilante
  9. Something For Nothing
  10. Sing Along
View full details
  • Shipping

    We can ship to virtually any address in the world. Note that there are restrictions on some products, and some products cannot be shipped to international destinations.

    When you place an order, we will estimate shipping and delivery dates for you based on the availability of your items and the shipping options you choose. Depending on the shipping provider you choose, shipping date estimates may appear on the shipping quotes page.

    Please also note that the shipping rates for many items we sell are weight-based. The weight of any such item can be found on its detail page. To reflect the policies of the shipping companies we use, all weights will be rounded up to the next full pound.

  • Returns

    You may return most new, unopened items within 30 days of delivery for a full refund. We'll also pay the return shipping costs if the return is a result of our error (you received an incorrect or defective item, etc.).

    You should expect to receive your refund within four weeks of giving your package to the return shipper, however, in many cases you will receive a refund more quickly. This time period includes the transit time for us to receive your return from the shipper (5 to 10 business days), the time it takes us to process your return once we receive it (3 to 5 business days), and the time it takes your bank to process our refund request (5 to 10 business days).

    If you need to return an item, please contact us with your order number and details about the product you would like to return. We will respond quickly with instructions for how to return items from your order.